A Bit of Background

image from pixabay.com
image from pixabay.com

I have been blogging since 2007. In that time I have gone from a newbie to an Edublogs Pro. I have created blogs on a number of topics. using a number of different platforms. My favorite platform is Edublogs. The support is outstanding and the learning curve is suited to the individual.

The most important blogging I have done is related to being an educator. I found that my audience for Mrs. Poulin: Reflect and Share was blended, maybe too blended.  I initially thought I could write to a parent audience and at the same time write to my PLN. After a number of years, my opinions got in the way of the plans and ideas of the powers-that-be. Suddenly I found my site was UN-linked from the school site. I suspect the “complaint” was related to my words on the power parents can have over the decisions schools make, oops! The emperor has no clothes, but I was supposed to keep up the farce. No hard feelings though. I had grown out of a blended blog idea anyway. The newly presented challenge was to remove all student images and videos. I did not have parent permission to use them outside of school use and now the blog was private, educational but still not school sanctioned.

So I created a new class blog, and stuck to sharing classroom news and valuable information on how parents can help their kids at home. It was very well received and I found the work meaningful and reflective. I tried to ignore the fact that busy parents didn’t subscribe even though the articles and images were about their child. I emailed them repeatedly but still, little interest. Boy, the things they missed out on. You can bring a horse to water but you can’t make him drink.

The older blog linked above took on a new title and role as my place for reflecting on the state of education and my own place in it. I was talking to my PLN.

Now that I am retired, I want a fresh look at education and I need to be able to speak my mind without going “against policy.” So that brings us up to date. Organic Educator will channel my real passions in education and take the readers down a wholesome path.

Not a grand introduction to this blog but still a bit of background that I’m hopeful will help you see where I am coming from.

Next post –  Just what is an organic educator?  Hint: It’s not about farming, but we will get our hands dirty.

cropped-bulbs2

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>